Kingmaker – Eat Yourself Whole

This is a difficult one. There are some great moments on this album, and there is not so good moments too. For me, whenever I hear When Lucy’s Down; I get transported back to a Saturday night at the Hothouse in Bournemouth circa 1992. That song was an indie floor filler. At the time I didn’t know who performed that song, so I asked the DJ, “Kingmaker” he said, and he just looked at me as if I was some cretin. Songs such as Really Scrape the Sky are very catchy and just ask to be sung along with. Freewheeling and Revelation show that there is an abundance of musical talent in the band too. I have a particular affection for Two Headed, Yellow Bellied Hole Digger. Probably because I saw Kingmaker at the Joiners in Southampton in August 1991, on the Two Headed EP tour. I remember that Myles Howell the bassist was sporting a Mohican haircut. This was unheard of in the early nineties.

Unfortunately the rest of the album struggles to be just ok. Loveless/Defamed and the other songs tend to be unmemorable. It might be because I have the US version of the album. The UK version has Wave and Everything In Life instead of Where You Stand and Eat Yourself Whole.

Kingmaker : Eat Yourself Whole

Where You Stand
When Lucy’s Down
Hard Times
Loveless/Defamed
Eat Yourself Whole
Freewheeling
Revelation
Two Headed, Yellow Bellied Hole Digger
Lady Shakespeare’s Bomb
High As A Kite

One thought on “Kingmaker – Eat Yourself Whole

  1. Ah the Hothouse! Now THAT brings back memories! Didn’t see Kingmaker at the Joiners, but did catch The High when they played. Great days…

Leave a Reply

