Morrissey Live 15/09/2015 Plymouth Pavilions

DSC_0049[1]Last night I saw Morrissey at Plymouth.  I had seen him previously  23 years, 11 months, 9 days ago at the Bournemouth International Centre, and to be honest last night was a 150% better.

So I turned up at Plymouth Pavilions and there was already a queue. I noticed that there was hardly anyone sporting a pompadour or glasses.  I felt instantly at ease as I had brought my wife and she was worried that she was not going to fit in.  As we entered the Arena and took our seats the video started.  Instead of a support band there was a video on the screen onstage.  It was quiet difficult to hear the dialogue from the video but it included some great pieces from Ike and Tina Turner and Leo Sayer.

Then the opera music started, you are no longer allowed to throw Gladiolas onstage. Morrissey walked on with the band and kicked off with Suedehead. It was so fantastic and despite having a broken shoulder I gave a standing ovation at the end (I have not given an ovation since Spiritualized Take Me to the Other Side, Bristol, Colson Hall 2001).  It suddenly hit me that I was watching a superstar.  Moz sang songs from the last album World Peace is None of your Business and selected classics, it was so much better than last time.  When I saw Moz 24 years ago when he started sing everyone else in the audience sung and they knew all the words to every song.  So I never realised how good his vocal talent live was, because all I could hear was the audience, and believe me his voice is fantastic.

Morrissey was a showman and entertainer, I was loving every microphone lead whip, hip shimmy and bravura vocals.  It suddenly dawned on me that if I was single and female I would love him.  He was playing to the unresponsive crowd, yet still was a ultimate star.  He commanded the stage and led the band into each song.  He introduced the band who had a majority of Spanish names, which reinforces the flamenco sound of the latest album.

One thought on “Morrissey Live 15/09/2015 Plymouth Pavilions

  1. The one and only time I’ve had the pleasure of seeing Morrissey was on the Ringleader Of The Tormentors tour. He was amazing that night too. The guy just has this aura about him that makes him seem other-worldly. Glad you enjoyed it and that he was on form, in spite of his recent health problems. We need a Morrissey in the world.

Leave a Reply

