There and Back Again Lane

DSC_0005_thumb.jpg I was a Teenage Shoegazer, but this year I had the misfortune to hit 40.  I was expected to do something ‘special’ for surviving into my fourth decade.  There was talk of holidays, skydiving and other activities.  People who knew me better said that maybe I should go to a festival.  I quickly put a stop to this nonsense and said I knew exactly what I wanted to do.  I wanted to go on the Sarah Records tour of Bristol, which will be serialised in the next few posts.

Eventhough the Sarah Records exhibition at the Arnolfini Gallery had finished.  I picked up a fanzine and a poster from the exhibition.  The first stop on my tour was There and Back Again Lane.  Which is a very small lane, with wheelie bins, backyards and garages.  I did feel slightly self conscious having my photo taken by some wheelie bins and rubbish, but I am sure the local residents must be used to that.

There and Back Again Lane is a farewell retrospective of one of the most indie things that ever existed.  It includes their first issue on Sarah, The Sea Urchins – Pristine Christine Sarah 001, and 21 other Sarah stalwarts including; The Field Mice, Heavenly, Northern Picture Library, Brighter and The Hit Parade.  Strangely this is a CD only compilation, which seems to go against the original vinyl ideology of the record label.

It is a mixed bag of songs.  I would say that it does not sound too twee or shambolic; Heavenly’s – Atta Girl is rocking, and Even As We Speaks’ – Drown has some electronic elements.  Formed in Australia, Even As We Speak sound like a proto Saint Etienne.  The compilation reminds me of C86, because many of the songs I had not heard before I listened to the album for the first time, and it is not necessary what is on the album but what it stands for that is important.

82580dfed7ddd8cd2dc4549636cf6b8f

Various Artists : There and Back Again Lane

The Field Mice – Sensitive
Heavenly – Atta Girl
The Sugargliders – Ahprahan
The Springfields – Sunflower
The Orchids – Peaches
Blueboy – The Joy Of Living
The Harvest Ministers – 6 O’Clock Is Rosary
Brighter – Inside Out
East River Pipe – Make A Deal With The City
The Wake – English Rain
Secret Shine – Temporal
Northern Picture Library – Paris
Harvey Williams – She Sleeps Around
St. Christopher – All Of A Tremble
The Sea Urchins – Pristine Christine
Boyracer – He Gets Me So Hard
Action Painting! – Mustard Gas
The Sweetest Ache – Tell Me How It Feels
Another Sunny Day – Rio
The Hit Parade – In Gunnersbury Park
Even As We Speak – Drown

4 thoughts on “There and Back Again Lane

  1. I hate to be the one to break it to you, but if you’ve turned 40 you’re entering your FIFTH decade – oh, the humanity, etc. Mind you, I turned 49 recently so it’s not like I’ve anything to laugh about, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

